Shadowhuter Chronicles

The Shadowhuter Chronicles is my favorite series. And I have to admit, it’s a bit confusing! There are so many books in the series and you might be wondering, how am I supposed to read them? Well here is the place for you. I’ve gathered tons of information to make it easier for you.

Video: How should you read the Shadowhuter Chronicles?

From Emmabooks

This video is really helpful, so if you don’t have time to read the rest of this I would just watch this video.

If you’ve decided to stick around I’m going to break down the Shadowhuter Chronicles for you!

The Shadowhuter Chronicles is written in four series, The Mortal Instruments (TMI) The Infernal Devices (TID) The Dark Artifices (TDA)

There are two more coming out in 2019

The red scrolls of magic (part of the Wicked Powers series)

Chain of Gold (part of the Last hours series)

*both of these two are the first in a new series (more on that later)


The Mortal Instruments Series,

  1. City of Bones
  2. City of Ashes
  3. City of Glass
  4. City of Fallen Angels
  5. City of Lost Souls
  6. City of Heavenly Fire

The Infernal Devices,

  1. Clockwork Angel
  2. Clockwork Prince
  3. Clockwork Princess

The Dark Artifices

  1. Lady Midnight
  2. Lord of Shadows
  3. Queen of Air and Darkness

The Wicked Powers

  1. Red Scrolls of Magic *out April 9

The Last hours

  1. Chain of Gold *out November 19

You can read the series like this (in this order by series). 

Keep in mind that the Infernal Devices series contain minor spoilers for TMI. So either read that series before the last three books or in publication order, which is listed down below!

Publication Order

Or…. You can read them in publication order. This is actually the recommended way to read the series. I read the books following most of this pattern and it was a pretty good way to read the books. 

The order is,

  1. City of Bones
  2. City of Ashes
  3. City of Glass
  4. Clockwork Angel
  5. City of Fallen Angels
  6. Clockwork Prince
  7. City of Lost Souls
  8. Clockwork Princess
  9. City of Heavenly Fire
  10. *The Bane Chronicles
  11. *Tales from the Shadowhuter Academy 
  12. Lady Midnight
  13. Lord of Shadows
  14. Queen of Air and Darkness
  15. **Red Scrolls of Magic
  16. **Chain of Gold

*The Bane Chronicles and Tales from the Shadowhuter Academy are both novellas and can really be read anytime after TMI. It is reccomended that you read Tales from the Shadowhuter Academy before starting TDA but it is really up to you.

**These books are not out yet. The release dates are listed above, that’s books are both first in a new series taking place in the Shadowhuter world.

The books are written to be read in publication order, which makes sense. The Infernal Devices series have some small spoilers for the last three books of the TMI series. But, TDI takes place decades before TMI so these spoilers are minor. However, TDA contains LOTS of spoilers for both TMI. and TDA so, definitely don’t read TDA first. 

If none of those methods seem good, you could also read the books in the order of which they took place (time-wise in the world). His method is not recommended as the TID contains some spoilers for TMI, but nothing major.

  1. The Infernal Devices series
  2. The Mortal Instruments series
  3. The Dark Artifices series

Note: I don’t have time recommendations for the last two series since they haven’t come out yet, but I’ll be sure to update it once I know where they should fit in. Both of the series take place in different times. So to be safe I wouldn’t start with either of them to avoid major spoilers.

Need more information? Check out these helpful links!

Cassandra Clare’s website

Shadowhunter fandom page